Hubba Hubba Revue gets mad props!

Exciting news for us this week here in San Francisco: my burlesque family, the Hubba Hubba Revue, was named one of the Top 10 burlesque shows in the world by the Travel Channel!

Read the full list here.

Back when I lived in Detroit, I was part of an incredibly close-knit dance troupe, Causing a Scene Productions, who were my second family. Leaving that group behind was one of the hardest things for me to do, and I assumed I would never find that kind of supportive, loving family environment again.

I was so wrong!

I performed at the second Hubba show ever, just a couple of weeks after I moved to San Francisco. I’d known Eddie Dane from past burlesque conventions (true story: we actually both were part of a panel called “How to be a burlesque performer for fun and profit” at Teaseorama 2003) and he’s the one who booked me for the show. Right from the get-go, I knew these were my people; and it’s just gotten better and better over time.

Hubba is my chosen family; we love each other, support each other, and create beautiful mayhem together. It’s so joyous to have this incredible group of savagely creative people who all come together each month to put on a tremendously entertaining and dynamic show, We’re all one big crazy happy dysfunctional showbiz family.

Plus, if you hang out with other people with glitter addictions just as bad as yours, you don’t feel as bad. We’re all enablers, you know.

With Kingfish, Hubba producer and my brother from another mother, at my first Hubba in 2007

Leave a comment

No comments yet.

Comments RSS TrackBack Identifier URI

Leave a Reply

